Yet another successful launch and landing by SpaceX

Yesterday, June 30, 2020 at 1610 EDT (2010 UTC), SpaceX launched a 1st time flown Falcon 9 rocket booster B1060.1. This now makes 63 consecutive successful SpaceX missions and is the 5th successful Falcon landing in a row. Two more and it’s a winning streak!

Falcon 9 B1060 from remote camera at SLC-40 | photo: Crystal Gabriel

The Falcon 9’s payload was for the United States Space Force, GPSIII-SV03 (Global Positioning System 3 – Space Vehicle #3) nicknamed Columbus.

GPS III

Lockheed Martin designed GPS III to help the Space Force modernize the GPS constellation. with new technology and capabilities. The new GPS IIIs provide three times better accuracy and up to eight times improved anti-jamming capabilities. They also offer a new L1C civil signal. That is compatible with other international global navigation satellite systems to improve civilian user connectivity.

Fairing encapsulating GPSIII-SV03 prior to launch | photo: Crystal Gabriel

The launch was only delayed due to Upper Level winds which was to the end of the launch window. However, we got a lift off from Space Coast of Florida and the day was beautiful.

SpaceX Falcon 9 lifts off from SLC-40 at Cape Canaveral AFS | photo: Crystal Gabriel

The Space Force called up GPS III SV04 for a launch later this summer. We’ll keep you posted on a date and time when confirmed.

The next SpaceX launch is July 8, 2020 at 1200 EDT (1600 UTC) of Starlink L9 / Black Sky Global 5 & 6 from SLC-39A at Kennedy Space Center, Florida, USA

Be sure to subscribe to our YouTube channel, Go Space Launch. we’ll be posting much more in the coming weeks.

Jon Van Horne
Jon Van Horne

He began his career in media as a multimedia designer and developer in Montreal, Quebec. He developed a passion for media during his job in Photography and Video at a Montreal media content company. Other passions in media, photography/videography and soon going back to school in engineering.